## PROCEEDINGS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL RE-ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING CITY OF WEYAUWEGA TUESDAY, APRIL 20, 2021

## City Clerk Rebecca Loehrke administered the Oath of Office to Mayor Jack Spierings, Ward 1 Alderperson Kaley DuCoeur, Ward 2 Alderperson Chris Gunderson and Ward 3 Alderperson Cameron Looker.

The meeting of the new Common Council was called to order by Mayor Spierings at 7:02 pm at the Weyauwega Municipal Building Council Chambers on Tuesday, April 20, 2021 following the regular meeting of the City Common Council.

**Roll Call:** Present: Mayor Jack Spierings, Rich Luedke, Kaley DuCoeur, Shani Appleby, Chris Gunderson, Bruce Goetsch, and Cameron Looker. Also Present: City Administrator Jeremy Schroeder, Clerk Rebecca Loehrke, Police Chief Jerry Poltrock, Sergeant Brandon Leschke, Devin DuCoeur, Frank Zaboj and Richard Rupno.

**Mayor's Statement:** Mayor Spierings thanked everyone for their input on the committee appointments. Is hopeful that the appointments will all work out.

**Election of Council President:** Rich Luedke and Shani Appleby were both nominated for Council President. A paper ballot vote was taken. Rich Luedke received 5 votes and Shani Appleby 1 vote. Rich Luedke was selected as the new council president.

**Common Council Standing Committee Appointments:** The recommendation from the Mayor was given to council members before the meeting to review.

Finance Committee: Kaley DuCoeur (Chair), Rich Luedke and Shani Appleby Public Works Committee: Bruce Goetsch (Chair), Cameron Looker and Chris Gunderson Police, Fire & Ambulance Committee: Rich Luedke (Chair), Bruce Goetsch and Kaley DuCoeur Public Property & Purchasing Committee: Cameron Looker (Chair), Bruce Goetsch and Rich Luedke Public Health & Relief (Ordinance) Committee: Shani Appleby (Chair), Kaley DuCoeur and Chris Gunderson

Recreation Committee: Chris Gunderson (Chair), Shani Appleby and Cameron Looker Plan Commission (Council Member Appointments): Kaley DuCoeur and Cameron Looker

Motion Appleby, second Luedke, to approve the Common Council Standing Committee Appointments as recommended by the Mayor. Motion carried with all "ayes".

**Citizen Committee and Commission Appointments:** The recommendations from the Mayor were presented in the meeting packet.

Recreation: DeAnna Volz and Frank Zaboj re-appointed to a four year term.

Board of Appeals: Two vacant positions available

Plan Commission: Andrew Rosenwinkel and Rory Koch re-appointed to a three year term. Board of Review: Keith Najdowski appointed to fill a remaining one year term. One vacant position and two vacant alternates are available.

Library Board: Lori Wild and Jan Dahlke re-appointed to a three year term.

## PROCEEDINGS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL RE-ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING CITY OF WEYAUWEGA TUESDAY, APRIL 20, 2021

Motion Luedke, second Appleby, to approve the Citizen Committee and Commission Appointments as presented in the packet by the Mayor. Motion carried with all "ayes".

Motion Luedke, second Appleby, to approve the appointment of the Waupaca County Post West as the local newspaper and BMO Harris Bank as the depository bank. Motion carried with all "ayes".

The meeting calendar for May was set.

- Ordinance Committee May 4<sup>th</sup> at 5:00 pm
- Recreation Committee May 4<sup>th</sup> at 5:45 pm
- Public Property Committee May 4<sup>th</sup> at 6:30 pm
- Finance Committee May 11<sup>th</sup> at 5:00 pm
- Police/Fire/Ambulance Committee May 11<sup>th</sup> at 6:30 pm
- Public Works Committee May 11<sup>th</sup> at 7:00 pm
- City Council May 17<sup>th</sup> at 6:30 pm

Administrator Schroeder would like to have pictures taken of all council members at the May Council meeting for the City website.

Motion Goetsch, second Appleby to adjourn at 7:19 pm. Motion carried with all "ayes".

Rebecca Loehrke City Clerk